Teresa MacInnes

Teresa MacInnes

This member spotlight is
sponsored by

Front Row Insurance Brokers Inc.Vistek - The Visual Technology People

bravoFACTUAL

ABOVE: Teresa MacInnes during the filming of Mabel (2016)
PHOTO BY: Shirley Robb

MEMBER Spotlight

Teresa MacInnes

Buying Sex (2013) Poster

Buying Sex (2013)

Every month, the DOC Member Spotlight showcases a DOC member from a different region across Canada. DOC Atlantic member Teresa MacInnes is the subject of our latest profile.

When you’re making a film about people who are considered marginalized or who’ve had trauma, they need to be a part of the creative process.”
Teresa MacInnes

It was a borrowed camera and a passion for social justice that unwittingly launched Teresa MacInnes’ 30-year career as an award-winning documentary filmmaker.

She first reached for the camera during her honours thesis on methadone maintenance while studying at Simon Fraser University. At the time, she was working with Vancouver psychologist and professor emeritus Bruce Alexander with the goal of becoming a psychologist herself.

While helping with a letter writing campaign, MacInnes initiated a video project alongside a man in the methadone program who wanted to demonstrate to the B.C. government how it helps people break free of opioid addiction. In the process, she met and collaborated with Alexis Mackintosh on three more social justice videos and discovered the film industry. “I saw how, even in a small way, film could contribute to social change,” recalls MacInnes.

Embracing social work and filmmaking as a collaborative relationship, MacInnes continued working in both fields until 1993 when she formed the film company, Starry Night Productions, with Penny Wheelwright in Vancouver. Later on, she would form Sea to Sea Productions with her husband Kent Nason in Nova Scotia where they currently reside.

Still from Mabel (2016)

Screen shot from Mabel (2016)

MacInnes’ body of work as an independent producer and director has grown to include award-winning feminist and social justice docs such as Teen Rebel/Teen Mom (1994), The Other Side of the Picture (1998), Under Wraps (1996), Buying Sex (2013); Waging Peace (2001), Teaching Peace (2004) Learning Peace (2002), Teaching Peace in a Time of War (2004); The Nature of Things’ Lost (1999) and Trek of the Titans (2015), as well as more intimate portraits such as Norm (2008) and Mabel (2016).

 

Trek of the Titans (2015) Poster

Trek of the Titans (2015)

Co-Creating Narratives

How does MacInnes choose her stories—or perhaps how do they choose her? “Sometimes it’s simple—someone has something to say, a story to be told,” MacInnes explains. “Often there’s a burning drive to bring that story forward because it’s something you feel is important to share. Stories build from one film to another and sometimes, if you’re around long enough, the new projects loop back to previous ones,” she muses.

Collaboration on both sides of the lens is key to MacInnes’ process—evident in her current film project, Conviction, with co-directors Nance Ackerman and Ariella Pahlke and MacInnes’ role as producer, which she shares with the NFB’s Annette Clarke. Co-produced by the National Film Board of Canada and produced in association with documentary Channel, Conviction envisions alternatives to prison with women who spent time there and individuals like Senator Kim Pate who are on the frontlines of the decarceration movement.

“It’s more than just showing these women and including their voice,” notes MacInnes. “Collaboration means allowing them to have a stronger influence in the piece by participating in the making of the film from start to finish.”

As filming and editing on Conviction continues over the next year, MacInnes also remains committed to supporting the documentary film industry in Canada. Currently she serves on the boards of DOC Atlantic, Screen Nova Scotia and Hot Docs Film Festival.

As a member of DOC and Women in Film early in her career, MacInnes acknowledges, “There’s a lot that people fought for which I have benefited from. I want to do the same for younger filmmakers.”

Teresa MacInnes spoke with Kim Morningstar for this DOC Member Spotlight.

Teresa MacInnes

Teresa MacInnes

ce bulletin est
commandité par

Front Row Insurance Brokers Inc.Vistek: The Visual Technology People

bravoFACTUAL

ABOVE: Teresa MacInnes lors du tournage de Mabel (2016)
Photo de: Shirley Robb

Pleins Feux Sur...

Teresa MacInnes

Affiche: Buying Sex (2013)

Buying Sex (2013)

Chaque mois, Pleins feux met en lumière un membre de DOC de différentes régions du Canada. Teresa MacInnes, du chapitre DOC Atlantique est notre invitée de mai.

« Quand vous réalisez un film sur des gens qui sont considérés comme marginalisés ou qui ont subi un traumatisme, ils doivent faire partie de votre processus créatif. » Teresa MacInnes

Au début, ce sont une caméra empruntée et une passion pour la justice sociale qui ont involontairement amorcé la fructueuse carrière de la réputée documentariste Teresa MacInnes il y a plus de trente ans.

Elle a véritablement ressenti l’utilité d’avoir une caméra pendant qu’elle était à l’Université Simon Fraser à préparer sa thèse de premier cycle sur les thérapies d’entretien à la méthadone. À l’époque, ayant pour but de devenir psychologue, elle travaillait avec Bruce Alexander, psychologue et professeur émérite de Vancouver.

Au cours de sa participation à une campagne épistolaire, Teresa a mis en œuvre un projet vidéo aux côtés de quelqu’un du programme de méthadone qui souhaitait démontrer au gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique à quel point ce programme pouvait aider les gens à se libérer de la dépendance aux opiacés. C’est dans ce contexte qu’elle rencontre Alex Mackintosh et collabore avec lui sur trois autres documents portant sur la justice sociale et qu’elle découvre l’industrie cinématographique. « J’ai vu comment, même à une petite échelle, un film pouvait contribuer à un changement social, » dit-elle.

Alliant le travail social et la réalisation dans un esprit de collaboration mutuelle, Teresa MacInnes a continué d’exercé dans les deux disciplines jusqu’en 1993 et la création avec Penny Wheelwright de sa société de production Starry Night Produtions à Vancouver. Plus tard, en Nouvelle-Écosse où elle réside toujours, elle fondera Sea to Sea Productions avec son mari Kent Nason.

Photo tiré de Mabel (2016)

Photo tirée de Mabel (2016)

L’œuvre de Teresa MacInnes, productrice indépendante et réalisatrice, comprend désormais des documentaires féministes et de justice sociale tels que Teen Rebel/Teen Mom (1994), The Other Side of the Picture (1998), Under Wraps (1996), Buying Sex (Sexe à vendre, 2013); Waging Peace (2001), Teaching Peace (2004) Learning Peace (2002), Teaching Peace in a Time of War (2004); The Nature of Things’ Lost (1999) et Trek of the Titans (2015), tout autant que des portraits intimistes comme Norm (2008) et Mabel (2016).

Affiche: Trek of the Titans (2014)
Trek of the Titans 2015)

La co-création de récits

Comment Teresa choisit-elle les histoires qu’elle nous raconte – ou bien est-ce que ce sont les histoires qui la choisissent ? Elle explique que « parfois c’est simple, quelqu’un a quelque chose à dire, une histoire à raconter. Souvent, c’est un ardent désir de faire vivre cette histoire parce que vous sentez qu’il est important de le partager. Les histoires se construisent d’un film à l’autre, et parfois, si vous restez dans le coin assez longtemps, de nouveaux projets viennent s’arrimer aux précédents », dit-elle, songeuse.

La collaboration des deux côtés de la caméra est la clé du travail de Teresa. C’est une évidence pour Conviction, le projet qu’elle produit actuellement en collaboration avec Anette Clarke de l’ONF et coréalisé par Nance Ackerman et Ariella Pahlke. Coproduit avec l’Office national du film du Canada et en association avec documentary Channel, Conviction imagine des alternatives à la prison avec des femmes qui en sont sorties et des personnes comme la sénatrice Kim Pate qui est aux avant-postes du decarceration movement, mouvement pour l’application de peines de substitution et la lutte contre la surpopulation des prisons.

« C’est bien davantage que de seulement montrer ces femmes et inclure leurs voix, » remarque Teresa. « La collaboration signifie leur permettre d’avoir une réelle influence sur le film en participant à sa fabrication du début à la fin. »

Le tournage et le montage de Conviction se poursuivent encore au cours de l’année qui vient mais Teresa poursuit son implication dans la défense de l’industrie du documentaire au Canada. Actuellement, elle siège aux conseils d’administration de DOC Atlantique, de Screen Nova Scotia et du festival Hot Docs.

En tant que membre de DOC et de Women in Film depuis ses débuts, Teresa MacInnes reconnaît « qu’il y a plusieurs combats qui ont été menés et dont j’ai bénéficié. Je veux faire la même chose pour les jeunes cinéastes. »

Entrevue avec Teresa MacInnes réalisée par Kim Morningstar, traduction Roger Bourdeau.

 

doc