3:00 pm PST

Toronto

Organisateur

DOC National

L’Association des documentaristes du Canada (DOC) est la voix collective des créateurs et créatrices de documentaires indépendants au Canada. DOC naît en 1983 sous le nom de Canadian Independant Film Caucus(CIFC) pour défendre les intérêts de la communauté grandissante de documentaristes. DOC réunit aujourd’hui, plus de 1000 membres répartis dans six chapitres d’un océan à l’autre.

Lieux de travail

Canadian Broadcasting Centre

250 Front St W,

Toronto, ON M5V 3G5

Tables rondes

PERSPECTIVES DocuMentality : la croissance d’un mouvement

⭐ Grande nouvelle !

DOC est extrêmement ravi de vous annoncer que nous participerons à DocuMentality, un projet qui vise à normaliser les discussions sur la santé mentale et le bien-être dans notre industrie. DOC prend part à ce projet afin de disposer de données pertinentes appuyant nos représentations pour nos engagements à soutenir les projets concernant la santé mentale et le bien-être des créateurs et créatrices de documentaires.

DOC sera présentateur d’une table-ronde durant le TIFF exposant les grandes lignes des travaux de groupes de réflexion du Royaume-Uni et des États-Unis qui ont initié DocuMentality au début de l’année et nous pourrons partager nos projets pour DocuMentality au Canada. Les informations que nous recueillerons auprès de groupes de réflexions canadiens menés par thérapeutes constitueront un guide visant à : normaliser les discussions sur la santé mentale et le bien-être dans notre industrie ; à démontrer comment les documentaristes peuvent devenir des personnes-ressources plus résilientes pour elles-mêmes, leurs équipes et pour les gens qui leur ont confié leurs histoires ; et à déterminer les actions que DOC peut entreprendre pour favoriser une transformation sectorielle.


DOC au TIFF !

DocuMentality est un projet en expansion qui vise à normaliser les discussions sur la santé mentale au sein de l’industrie documentaire et à proposer des règles pratiques de conduite pour les cinéastes. Ce projet est né d’efforts conjoints d’associations au Royaume-Uni et aux États-Unis. Aujourd’hui, l’Association des documentaristes du Canada (DOC) est le fer de lance d’une nouvelle vague de groupes de réflexion soutenu par le Fonds des médias du Canada. Au cours de cette table ronde, nous entendrons Malikkah Rollins membre de l’équipe de DocuMentality et Sarah Spring, directrice générale de DOC, qui aborderont le passé, le présent et l’avenir de ce mouvement. Pour sa part, la réalisatrice Rebeca Huntt exposera ce qu’elle a appris sur le maintien d’un équilibre mental au moment de la réalisation de son film intensément personnel Beba, présenté en première l’an dernier au TIFF. Inney Prakash du Maysles Documentary Center agira comme modérateur.

🗓️ mardi 13 septembre 2022
🕔 15 H (HAE)



Évènements à venir

Il n'y a pas d'événements à venir prévus pour le moment. Revenez bientôt.

3:00 pm EST

Toronto

Organizer

DOC National

The Documentary Organization of Canada (DOC) is the collective voice of Canada’s independent documentary creators. DOC began in 1983 as the Canadian Independent Film Caucus (CIFC) to represent the interests of Canada's growing community of indi doc filmmakers. Today DOC has over 1000 members across six chapters from coast to coast.

Location

Canadian Broadcasting Centre

250 Front St W,

Toronto, ON M5V 3G5

Panel Discussions

PERSPECTIVES DocuMentality: The Growth of a Movement

⭐ Great News!

DOC is extremely pleased to announce that we will be participating in DocuMentality: an initiative that seeks to normalize conversations about mental health and well-being in our industry. DOC is participating in this initiative in order to have clear data to bolster our advocacy for sector commitments to support mental health and well being initiatives for documentary creators.

DOC is presenting a panel discussion at TIFF that outlines the results of the UK and US focus groups that launched Documentality earlier this year, and we’ll share our plans for Documentality in Canada.  The information we collect in the therapist-led Canadian focus groups will become a guide to normalizing conversations around mental health in our sector; how documentary filmmakers can become more resilient resources for themselves, their teams and the people who entrust them with their stories; and what actions DOC can take to advocate for sectoral change.


DOC at TIFF!

DocuMentality is an expanding initiative seeking to normalize conversations about mental health in the documentary industry and provide best-practice guidance for filmmakers. The project began with efforts in the UK and US. Now, the Documentary Organization of Canada (DOC) is spearheading a new wave of focus groups with support from the Canada Media Fund. On this panel, we’ll hear from DocuMentality team member Malikkah Rollins and DOC’s Sarah Spring about the past, present, and future of the movement. We’ll also hear from filmmaker Rebeca Huntt describing what she learned about maintaining mental balance in the making of her intensely personal film Beba, which premiered at TIFF last year. Moderator: Inney Prakash (Maysles Documentary Center)

🗓️ Tuesday, September 13, 2022
🕔 3:00pm



Speakers

Rebeca Huntt

Filmmaker

Rebeca Huntt is a filmmaker and multimedia artist born in New York City. She has a BA from Bard College. She directed the short films ¡Hay Coro! (18) and 1-800 Lovable (20). Beba (21) is her first feature film.

Malikkah Rollins

MSW

Malikkah Rollins a co-founder of DocuMentality, an initiative designed to elevate the conversation around mental health in the documentary community. She is a trained psychotherapist which she served as for 10 years, specializing in supporting young adults experiencing mental health challenges. She was also an independent film producer for six years. Integrating mental health and documentary filmmaking, she served as a mental health consultant for a group of young BIPOC/LGBTQ+ filmmakers sponsored by POV and has been a guest speaker with several documentary organizations such as Sundance, the European Film Market and Video Consortium unpacking mental health issues in the documentary ecosystem. In her full-time life, she is the Director of Industry and Education at DOC NYC, the largest doc film festival in the United States. She is a member of Brown Girl Doc Mafia and on the board of WIFV-DC.

Sarah Spring

Executive Director, Documentary Organization of Canada

Inney Prakash

Cinema Programmer, Maysles Documentary Center Moderator

Upcoming Events

1:00 pm

Online

Meet the Funder: Bell Media

Presented by DOC Ontario

Workshop